FORUMS: list search recent posts

MTS conversion to MOV or other format? XA10 camera

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Steve Guiles
MTS conversion to MOV or other format? XA10 camera
on Nov 2, 2016 at 1:38:44 pm

First, THANKS in advance for the help I know you'll probably be giving me.
Second, please have patience with me, I'm a noob to more than just the forum. I've lurked here many times, but not posted much.

My issue: Just purchased a Canon XA10 for my class. I can't seem to get the video off to edit it.

I've read the forum and found a bunch of stuff on AVHD and .MTS files.

I use a 3 year old iMac running Final Cut Express 4. Don't judge me.
That said, I have had a VERY difficult time just even looking at the footage. I want to convert for use with FCE4 (Apple Intermediate Codec seems to work the best with my current set up).

In the past, I would just pull files off of a DSLR and then convert in MPEG Streamclip.
The XA10 baffles me a bit.

I'm not at work yet, so I'm not looking at the camera.
I have read other threads, but they're older and don't all seem to apply to my situation.
I'm filming tomorrow and doing some interviews that are a one time kind of situation.
I'd like to use the XA-10 just for the audio, but I'll use an iPad if it'll work easier. (Heresy!)

Any advice?

Be gentle.

Sincerely,

Steve (aka Mr. Gee)

I'm a teacher.
I'm a musician.
I'm a guy who messes around with videography.

Return to posts index

Shane Ross
Re: MTS conversion to MOV or other format? XA10 camera
on Nov 2, 2016 at 5:13:28 pm