FORUMS: list search recent posts

FCP7 workflow - 5D MIII progressive footage for interlaced broadcast

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Stanislas Gazelle
FCP7 workflow - 5D MIII progressive footage for interlaced broadcast
on Oct 17, 2016 at 3:51:23 pm

Hi everyone!

I am Stan, nice to meet all of you. I am a french producer working in Miami, mainly on news and documentary stories around the States.
First message on the forum, but been around here often to seek some solutions to some problems. I guess a big thank you is in order for all the time I got help here, so THANK YOU, all of you.

I am once more looking for advice. I need to start editing a project for French TV, and they need a interlaced file for delivery. However the footage is in progressive as it was shot with a 5D MIII (1920*1080 25FPS IPB). What are my best options to have a "proper" interlaced delivery ? Do I need to digitize the footage in a special way before editing ? Or is there something I should do once my piece is ready ?

Usually I put everything in Pro res 422 and I adjust my FCP timeline in 1080i50, the final file (native, or H264) will look like its interlaced but it won't pass the channel's quality check...

I found this AE tutorial (https://library.creativecow.net/articles/solorio_marco/interlacing_progressive_footage.php) but I don't have it installed at the moment, and I am not very handy with it so I'm not sure I understand all the steps.

Open to any suggestions if there is any solutions to this...
Many thanks for your help.

Return to posts index

Shane Ross
Re: FCP7 workflow - 5D MIII progressive footage for interlaced broadcast
on Oct 17, 2016 at 6:36:26 pm

[Stanislas Gazelle] "Usually I put everything in Pro res 422 and I adjust my FCP timeline in 1080i50, the final file (native, or H264) will look like its interlaced but it won't pass the channel's quality check..."