FORUMS: list search recent posts

Media will not reconnect

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alison Rose
Media will not reconnect
on Oct 13, 2016 at 9:47:42 pm

I am a writer, director away from the office to screen footage and write. The editor sent me with the FCP 7.0.3 project files and all the offline media and I am not able to reconnect the media, and the editor is not reachable.
The project opens fine and I can see all the media on the drive.
I've been able to reconnect one entire sequence following File>Reconnect Media>. I've been able to collect a couple of clips in other timelines.
These are dailies: if two clips connect, why don't all the clips reconnect in the sequence?
I've looked at "help" but the information is above my level of expertise.

I'm a writing seeking advice to reconnect the media, and information to understand why the media is not reconnecting when I follow the right steps.

I'm reluctant to create new timelines because I am concerned it will affect all the downstream sequences, for the selects, and the rough assembly etc. Am I right about that?

Thank you forum.

Al

Return to posts index

David Roth Weiss
Re: Media will not reconnect
on Oct 13, 2016 at 10:50:28 pm

You haven't mentioned the type of source footage you're dealing with, which is essential in any "forensic" investigation of video issues in the world of non-linear editing. However, I'm assuming that it's footage from a prosumer camera using .mp4, h.264, or some other MPEG variant; and you have either one or more of the following issues:

1) no reel numbers embedded in the original camera files

2) all timecode on all files begins at 00:00:00:00

3) the directory where those files are located is not 100% identical to that of the editor

4) all of the above

I can probably solve this riddle for you, but not for free. If you decide you need my help, call
me at 3-ten, seven 29-79, zero six.

David Roth Weiss