FORUMS: list search recent posts

Sync drift on imported audio

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kino Haitsma
Sync drift on imported audio
on Aug 31, 2016 at 9:17:26 am

Hi all, I have been having some problems with FCP7 and imported audio, namely getting it to sync up...

This is how I work: I shoot video (see example below) with my iPhone. I give sync clap every new take.
I record my playing (I'm a pianist, making tutorial movies) and a speech microphone into my Mac Pro, while I shoot video. (in this case I work with Ableton Live).
I transfer the movies from the phone to the Mac, convert them to ProRes in MPEF Streamclip, and import them into FCP7.
I then import the audio from Ableton as a wav file into FCP.
Here's the problem. The audio drifts out of sync.
So, even when I line up the audio exactly with my clap at the start of a take, after a little while, say, 20 seconds I start to notice the audio is not in sync with picture anymore.
In addition, I also use an application (Synthesia) that transforms MIDI notes (recorded while shooting video) into actual notes on keys. In a separate process, I make screen captures from that application (with Monosnap) and after converting those clips to ProRes again, also at 30 fps, I layer them on the piano clips in FCP. They also start to drift out of sync after a little while.
I can't figure out what I am doing wrong. iPhone video converted to 30 fps ProRes, screen captures converted to 30 fps ProRes, and still no accurate sync.
Any tips or advice is greatly appreciated!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Tnm8LxaYlk

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Sync drift on imported audio
on Aug 31, 2016 at 3:24:13 pm
Last Edited By Dave LaRonde on Aug 31, 2016 at 11:26:20 pm

I am not one bit surprised you're having problems. Here's the best advice: don't shoot with an iPhone and expect lip sync.