FORUMS: list search recent posts

Two takes alternating quickly in final cut

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
relo vincenzo
Two takes alternating quickly in final cut
on Apr 14, 2011 at 4:14:42 pm

Hey guys, I'm a newbie to final Cut, and I was just wondering if there was any way to produce the same effect as this video from 1:09 to around 1:37

From what I can tell it is two different takes being alternated very quickly. I was wondering if I just had to cut up two takes into very short clips and have them switch back in forth, or if there was a built in way to do this in final cut.

Thank you very much in advance for any answers.

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Two takes alternating quickly in final cut
on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:16:28 pm

There's probably a more elegant way to do this, with a behavior, in Apple Motion. But if you're staying in FCP, The brute-force way to go is to stack as many of the tracks as you like, synched up, then razor thru the entire stack as many times as you need to, go back and use the mouse to select and control-x to cut the segments you want out in each layer, revealing the layer below. The right and left arrow keys will advance you to the next cut point, so this can go quicker than it sounds, but it is a crude brute-force method. For a short segment, that's what I'd do if the segment was very short.

If you want to do this over the entire three-four minutes, like the old Wang Chung video: "Everybody Have Fun Tonight", I would look at using the FCP feature called multicam, which imitates a live TV switcher. Line up the tracks, get them playing, and just tap the one key on the fly as fast and often as you want to cut between sources, as if you are drumming. You can go back to the timeline after this and tweak all the cuts to taste and repair errors. it is non-destructive. Then render out a refernce movie of this so it behaves all like one clip.