FORUMS: list search recent posts

Authoring Blu-Ray out of Final Cut Studio.

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bryant Coffey
Authoring Blu-Ray out of Final Cut Studio.
on Jun 11, 2011 at 4:48:19 pm

I've read a few posts on this but am having issues with a workflow that works for what I'm doing.

Here's the setup.

720P in Final Cut Pro, Exporting out for Blu-Ray and then authoring in toast and burning on a sony vaio blu-ray burner.

Usually when I make SD DVD's, I export out a Video_TS and an Audio_TS and then burn it with toast through the Video_TS folder. Is there a similar workflow when doing Blu-Ray -- like a blu-ray video_TS/Audio_TS or something similar? I'm a complete novice to blu-ray authoring so I'm just poking around trying to figure out if I can render out of FCP to files visible on a pc then burn them with a pc blu-ray burner. Let me know if anyone has any suggestions! Thanks.

Bryant

Bryant Coffey

Return to posts index

Chris Tompkins
Re: Authoring Blu-Ray out of Final Cut Studio.
on Jun 11, 2011 at 5:14:23 pm

Use the FCP "Share" option - this creates your BD files.
Drop them in toast and burn. Don't bother with TS folders.

Chris Tompkins
Video Atlanta LLC

Return to posts index

Bret Williams
on Jun 12, 2011 at 3:02:54 am

That's going to create an avchd disc. It's HD. Looks great. But it's not blu ray.

I think he's referring to a true blue ray. FCP seems to create avchd with share function if you only have DVD burner. So, I think in toast you should be creating a disc image. It's what I do for DVDs for clients when it's a small project in a hurry. I upload an image, they burn it and deliver to their client.

Return to posts index

Chris Tompkins
on Jun 12, 2011 at 11:49:34 am

Using a Bluray burner? I don't think so.
It's a true BD. We do it all the time.

Chris Tompkins
Video Atlanta LLC

Return to posts index

Mikey Bouchereau
on Jun 12, 2011 at 1:57:03 pm