FORUMS: list search recent posts

Compressor settings for 1080i@60 going to DVD, getting jaggies

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David Shirey
Compressor settings for 1080i@60 going to DVD, getting jaggies
on Dec 20, 2010 at 11:47:31 pm

Full disclosure: I'm a Vegas Pro and recently Premiere Pro editor, but we have a Final Cut Pro system here and the boss wants me to investigate why the DVD's it produces all have horrible jagged edges on the footage. Using the same 1080i@60 footage from Sony EX-1s, the SD DVD's we end up with from FCP just look plain bad. I don't know if it's an interlacing issue or what, but the DVD's we make in Vegas/DVD Architect and Premiere/Encore are both interlaced and they look fine. We're using the 90 minute best quality template, and on shorter programs have bumped up the average bitrate but that's clearly not the issue it's having. The problem is noticeable on every dvd player and computer we have in the office. Any suggestions on proper workflow for this type of footage.

We're setting in and out points in a sequence then submitting to Compressor directly. I found in the FCP FAQ here a post that said you should export a Quicktime file, either stand-alone or reference, and then put that in Compressor, and that the advantages to that are that you can keep editing in FCP while it renders. I'm wondering if that actually changes the quality though, especially if it's by reference wouldn't it be the exact same as sending it straight from the timeline?

Return to posts index

Dan Quintero
Re: Compressor settings for 1080i@60 going to DVD, getting jaggies
on Dec 20, 2010 at 11:54:19 pm

Pretty sure this has been covered...