FORUMS: list search recent posts

Buses/submixes in FCP7?

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Roger Matthews
Buses/submixes in FCP7?
on Jul 14, 2010 at 8:34:15 pm

Hi, I'm an Assistant Editor who's familiar with most basic tasks in FCP, but do most of my creative (more advanced) work at home on Vegas 8.

However, for compatibility I bought a Macbook Pro recently, and am trying to translate all of my Vegas knowledge into FCP7. (I have the full FCS3 suite)

Now so far so good, and it's been a pretty painless transition, but I'm now working on an experimental five minute short, and one thing that is bothering me is how FCP handles audio.

I realize Soundtrack Pro is intended for all of FCP's more serious audio needs - of course. Makes sense. But the problem is it seems FCP does not even have any support for buses or submixes AT ALL? I've been trying to read up on this, and the closest mentioning of "Buses" I could get in FCP's manual was mentioning how FCP's buses don't function like regular audio buses, and only are used to map audio hardware to FCP.

I just want to do some very basic audio in FCP - run a Reverb bus I can send off a lot of audio clips to. It's an experimental film where the sound design is crucial, so it's just inefficient to send off the sequence to Soundtrack Pro, as I'd constantly be going back and forth as I experiment with ideas. (It's a stream of consciousness style piece)

Now I hope I just missed something obvious, and there is a way for me to have an entire channel linked to a plugin? Maybe FCP uses a different name than bus?

Any help is greatly appreciated. The FCP experience has been pleasant otherwise, and I'd hate for such a basic thing to get in the way of how I'm used to working.

Return to posts index

Jeremy Garchow
Re: Buses/submixes in FCP7?
on Jul 14, 2010 at 8:38:16 pm