FORUMS: list search recent posts

Defrag question...again

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jeff Mueller
Defrag question...again
on Jul 14, 2010 at 1:35:37 am

I know there's been a lot of discussion about this both here and on other forums, but I must say the more I read the more confused I am. Admittedly I am not a techie, more a creative type who loves what technology can do.

My problem: I have started having crashes and slow downs that I didn't used to have. Although FCP crashes the most, in the last few months (but not the six months before that when I first went to FCP7) I've had crashes in Color, Compressor, DVD Studio Pro and After Effects (also use Photoshop, both CS4), there are other symptoms too, but the only thing that has changed in the system to my knowledge is the data on the hard drives.

I have some back up drives, but the two that I use as "critical" are my internal 7200 RPM 250 GB drive that houses applications and my scratch disk which is a G-Raid3 1 TB connected by FW which was new when I went to FCP7 and mostly has had one project on it.. I have had a bunch of stuff going on and at times the drives have gotten quite full although the minute I see them over 80% I try and archive off as much as possible. I have run Disk Verify (all good) and Repair Permissions on the internal, the G-Raid passed Verify as good. I don't have Disk Warrior. PS I have also tried trashing preferences and clearing the index files.