FORUMS: list search recent posts

FCP editing system setup

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matthew Troyansky
FCP editing system setup
on May 20, 2009 at 2:03:37 pm

Hello Creative Cow,

I'm relatively new to the industry, I've started out as an Assistant Editor on a few projects but this is my first real go on a film (I'm working on a doc, i've been on since the beginning and we're about to get started shooting). Anyway, I'm looking into a great editing system and i was wondering if i could get some help from the professionals, please keep in mind that I am still learning all the technical jargon and i'm trying to learn as much of the technical aspect of the edit as i can. Now,we'll be shooting on a Panasonic HDX 900 on Medium DVCpro tapes (i pushed for P2 instead of tape but they decided against it). So they asked me to find the best computer, Deck, and monitors to set up a sweet editing suite. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Matthew Troyansky

Return to posts index

Kent Stipp
Re: FCP editing system setup
on May 20, 2009 at 2:46:17 pm

Matthew,

well ther are a number of things you can do here. I would be looking at a Mac Pro a 2.66 or a 2.93 with 12 gig of ram and the 480 video card, and probably the 640gig HD for my main drive. And I would use the AJA Lhi card for capture and out to the multi format monitor. As to storage do you want to go internal, Fibre, sas, sata? when you decide that you can look at storage. I am personally partial to the NEC and Samsung monitors, as to a multi format monitor take a look at the Panasonic, not a bad price and a good quality.
Well hope this gets you started

Kent Stipp
Life Begins at 155mph
Ki PRO Lens to Post
3am Studios llc.
3amstudios.org
Sharedsummitsfever.com

Return to posts index

Shane Ross
on May 20, 2009 at 4:01:18 pm

Search the forums...this question is pretty much asked daily.

Shane