FORUMS: list search recent posts

XDCAM Codecs and QT and FCP

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Geralyn Abinader
XDCAM Codecs and QT and FCP
on Apr 5, 2009 at 8:46:45 pm

I did read many posts but I can't glean from them the exact info I need. I'm a bit of a novice here.

Stats: I have installed FCP 6.0.5; QT Pro 7.6; XDCAM Transfer 2.9.0. I have an MAC )S X 10.5.6, 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon and lots of ram and memory.

When I open either FCP or XDCAM Transfer I can see the proxy footage. I cannot see the HD footage. After about 5 minutes or so a translucent gray curtain comes down and it tells me to reboot my computer by holding in the power button. I do not really like to do this as many times as I've already done today. When I try to view the footage in QT it says "The movie could not be opened. The movie contains some invalid data"

When I open XDCAM Transfer, it says I'm missing the XDCAM Drive Software, which I had thought came with the transfer program, but apparently doesn't. At Sony site, I really can't figure out which software I'm supposed to download. I've already done: PDZK-P1 v290 Production (not sure why, wondering what that is now). I've installed the XDCAM Transfer 2.9 mpkg.

So bascially I'd like to be able to use FCP and the transfer program without crashing and view the clips in QT. any suggestions? Many Thanks.

Geralyn

Return to posts index

Geralyn Abinader
Re: XDCAM Codecs and QT and FCP
on Apr 5, 2009 at 8:58:33 pm

ONe more thing....

I did install one more thing which took care of the missing component. However, I literally crash every time I try and import into FCP and I still can't view anything in QT.

Thanks - Just thought I'd update it.

Geralyn

Return to posts index

Wayne Carey
on Apr 6, 2009 at 1:06:54 am

Do you have one of the U1 decks connected thru USB?