FORUMS: list search recent posts

Fairground Mirrors

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jordan Copeland
Fairground Mirrors
on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:09:44 pm

Hello all,

I'm a freelance editor who's just taken the plunge into directing - ironically, the directing was a breeze but I'm having problems with Post. I'm at the very last stage - synching up my graded picture with my mixed soundtrack - and the picture is suddenly distorting strangely, with different parts of the image moving independently of each other. I'm stumped by this, hope someone can help...

It's a documentary, shot DV NTSC on a DVX100. Edited in London, sent mini-DV tape to LA for grading. The colorist put it on a digibeta tape, worked his magic, then put the end result onto another digi which he sent back to me. I took the tape into a dub-house to get it digitized (to 8-bit Uncompressed QT), and now when I watch the movie from the hard-drive, I get what seems to be some kind of interlacing issue, but not like any I've seen before.

When played in Quicktime, it just looks interlaced for two frames out of five. But in FCP though it doesn't look interlaced, I do get a weird warbling effect - the image divides into seven or eight horizontal bands, which move independently of each other, giving a sort of fairground-mirror effect, again for two frames out of five. Static talking-heads shots look fine - the more movement in the shot, the more pronounced the problem. Here's a before and after - it's a blurry handheld shot, but it illustrates the problem quite well:

On the left is is how it looked when I finished editing, on the right is the newly digitized, graded version.

Photobucket