MAC OS X: Forum

iMac 21.5"

COW Forums : Apple OS X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Stefano Spinelli
iMac 21.5"
on Nov 4, 2011 at 10:58:54 am

Hi to everyone, i'm new to this site and i don't if this is the right place for this post, sorry if i did wrong.

Now, i'm thinking to buy the iMac 21.5" with this specs:

- Intel core i5 quad-core 2.7 GHz or i7 quad-core 2.8 (maybe you'll tell me wich is better for what i need to do)
- 4 Gb Ram (again, if better i can put 8Gb)
- 1 Tb Hard disk
- AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 Mb

I am an architecture student and i always used AutoCad,i'm starting to use some 3d programs like ArchiCad and just started using Artlantis for 3d rendering. I am quite and heavy user because it sometimes happens (near exams) that i use both archi and autocad like 15-17 hourse a day. So my Dell laptop (even if it has like 1 year) is having some hard times; i can tell that from the huge heat that makes, the fact that after a few hours it often crashes and so on...

Do you think that the 21.5" with that specs is enough for that? or is it better to go straight to the 27"?

(sorry if my english is not perfect XD)

Return to posts index

Jean-Christophe Boulay
Re: iMac 21.5"
on Nov 7, 2011 at 9:10:47 pm

Hi Stefano,

Considering that what you do is very hard on the CPU, I think it's worth it for you to go for the i7 processor. Apple does not say which Intel models it uses specifically, but that i7 is very powerful so it should have enough power to work smoothly. If you're running two big applications at the same time, more RAM than 4GB would probably help a lot also. I recommend you look into ordering your computer with the minimum of RAM and buying more yourself, not from Apple, as their prices are a bit ridiculous for the extra RAM. You'll probably save some money there.