MAC OS X: Forum

Data Recovery 3! I Need Help

COW Forums : Apple OS X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Melvin Royster
Data Recovery 3! I Need Help
on Dec 20, 2009 at 8:09:15 am

I've searched the previous post, and couldn't find a direct solution to everything I've tried. I'm new to the Mac world, but I think I have a good handle on it. Anyway, I work with FCP and I have my capture, and render files going to my USB External hard drive. After working on a projects for days, I started up my system only to see that the computer didn't recognize my hard drive "disk insertion error." So I selected ignore, and tried to reboot many times all selecting Ignore. Then I thought to try the initialize button, so I hit it, but I didnt' feel comfortable doing anything after that so I stopped, before it could initialize in Disk Utility. Did I mess anything up there?

Still not getting anywhere, I purchased Data Rescue 3, and ran the deep scan. It started finding many MP3 files up there that I didn't have. But nonetheless, it found some but not all of my files. I made a folder and had the files emptied into that folder. Now what?

I thought it would fix my hard drive, or at least allow Disk Utility to repair it, or even erase it and reformat it, nothing worked. I'm still stuck with a hard drive that doesn't work. Not to mention, the files that the software recovered cannot be played, I get the error message "not a movie file," when I know it is.

Did I do everything wrong or what? Can I still take my drive to a recovery company, even after I tried to erase and repair the drive through disk utility? I can't seem to get it right. This is the second drive I lost on this Mac Book Pro.

Return to posts index

Zane Barker
Re: Data Recovery 3! I Need Help
on Dec 20, 2009 at 5:07:31 pm

[Melvin Royster] "I purchased Data Rescue 3, and ran the deep scan."