MAC OS X: Forum

Maintenance

COW Forums : Apple OS X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dan BrowneMaintenance
by on Aug 11, 2008 at 4:14:56 am

I am a PC tech in a Mac world at the moment and I'm in need of some help. On PC there where several tools I used for maintaining my computer, it kept it nice and fast and so I never had many troubles with it. I have now been forced onto a mac and so wanting to learn all the small things that makes it tick and all that jazz. Are there any cool programs for optimising and maintaining macs, one of the best ones I had for PC was one called Tuneup Utilities. Anything like that for mac? I have had a play with Disk Utility and Disk Warrior, just wondering if there is anything else.

Thanks a million,

Dan

Dan Browne
Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
Cloud South Films
http://www.cloudsouthfilms.co.nz

Return to posts index

Jeff CarpenterRe: Maintenance
by on Aug 11, 2008 at 4:54:51 pm

There are some programs, but from what I've seen they're mostly geared towards solving problems. In other words, if the system is slow or unreliable in some way, there are programs to help you track down and fix these problems.

Disk Warrior is one of the important ones, actually.

For actual maintenance, there's not a whole lot to do. Here's a general 'to-do' list, but there's no one program than does these things.

1) Run 'Software Update' in the Apple-menu once a week or so.

2) Don't let your drive fill up more than 80%.

3) IF you have strange problems, launch Disk Utility and try the 'Repair Disk' and 'Repair Disk Permissions' features. This is only after you have a problem, though. I see no reason to do these things on a regular basis.

4) If you use iPhoto, once a year or so, launch it by holding COMMAND-ALT and clicking the icon. It will start-up in a mode that lets you re-build the thumbnail icons and library directory. This can help speed up iPhoto if you have thousands of photos.