MAC OS X: Forum

Tiger > Leopard - disappointed at lack of PC flexibility still

COW Forums : Apple OS X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
mark palmos
Tiger > Leopard - disappointed at lack of PC flexibility still
on Nov 17, 2007 at 10:35:19 pm

Hello guys,
Im pretty new to Mac, and jumped because of FCP. There are several basic things which I had taken for granted on a PC, but now they are missing on OSX, its frustrating to deal with long tedious work arounds. Sadly Leopard has addressed none of them.

To be specific:

1/ in windows, any File Open or Save As dialogue box has the same power as Windows Explorer, ie if you want to you can click on an item, rename, delete, move, copy, change the file extention, see the size etc etc, stuff you cannot do on Mac. Even better, on a PC you can RH mouse click on any of these files/folders and choose to Explore, which means Windows Explorer will immediately open and display the same directory should you need to do something there. I LOVE THAT.

2/ in windows, if you are browsing files in Windows Explorer, and see something you want to open in some programme, you can go to the text path above every window, copy it. Then when you are at a Save As or Open File dialogue, you paste that path in the file name field and press enter, windows immediately takes you to that directory. There you can see stuff by file name, size, thumbnail etc etc.