MAC OS X: Forum

More Memory for Editing on Powerbook G4

COW Forums : Apple OS X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dye
More Memory for Editing on Powerbook G4
by
on Feb 1, 2007 at 9:29:04 am

I have Powerbook G4 and use Final Cut Pro. Would like to upgrade memory for more storage and to run edit program faster, if possible. It has 1 GB. I'm a little confused b/c profile says it has 1 CPU then on the next line it says 512 KB per CPU. I am not that technically inclined. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

I am also aware that an external harddrive may be better for media storage. Any suggestions on a good model are appreciated. My last one crashed and I lost a significant project. Unfortunately, I did not have a back up drive.

Below is System Profile:

Hardware Overview:

Machine Model: PowerBook5,6
CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (1.2)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 1.5 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 1 GB
Bus Speed: 167 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 4.9.1f1
Sudden Motion Sensor: Enabled
Sudden Motion Sensor Version: 1.0

System Software Overview:

System Version: Mac OS X 10.3.9 (7W98)
Kernel Version: Darwin 7.9.0
Boot Volume: Macintosh HD

Memory:

SODIMM0/J25LOWER:

Size: 512 MB
Type: DDR SDRAM
Speed: PC2700U-25330

SODIMM1/J25UPPER:

Size: 512 MB
Type: DDR SDRAM
Speed: PC2700U-25330

Return to posts index

Jeff Carpenter
Re: More Memory for Editing on Powerbook G4
on Feb 1, 2007 at 5:06:48 pm

The "per CPU" line you're seeing has to do with the processor cache, which is different than the RAM. It's a function of the processor and motherboard and can't be changed so there's not reason to even think about it!