FORUMS: list search recent posts

Newbie here..Question on multiple cam setup Canon XA50 and Vixia HF200

COW Forums : Canon Cameras

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David Ritchie
Newbie here..Question on multiple cam setup Canon XA50 and Vixia HF200
on May 5, 2020 at 11:50:31 am

I am an old "still photographer" going way back to 4x5 film cameras. Getting baptized by fire in video here due to the "stay at home orders" I am wondering why i have such goofy video at 53:30 to 53:40 in this video

I am using the XA50 as the main camera (first shot) and then the Vixia Hf200 on a tripod zoomed in for a wide shot of the alter. In my "still world" I would call the alter that is moving (when the priest are standing at alter 53:40) a moire effect. Whatever it is i dont like it and would like to eliminate in the future.

Is it because the camera is zoomed in? lower quality? I am shooting at 24P 1920x1080 on both cameras the B cam is set at 24Mbps the XA50 35mbps.

Im just trying to refine the craft a little bit.

Return to posts index

Todd Terry
Re: Newbie here..Question on multiple cam setup Canon XA50 and Vixia HF200
on May 5, 2020 at 3:36:36 pm

Well that's super weird. It's definitely not got anything to do with the zooming.

What you are seeing there with the B camera is a much slower frame rate. I was curious enough about it to download the video from YouTube... and while your A camera is 24 frames per second (actually 23.976), the B camera is only 12fps...half what it should be. That is what is giving you that stuttery staccato looking motion and the "swimmy" looking backgrounds.

Now, the bigger question, is, why is that? Is there a camera setting on the B camera where you can set the frame rate? If so, it's too low. You need to set the frame rate the same as the other camera, which is probably 24fps (or 23.976).