Canon C100 MK II vs Panasonic GH5s

COW Forums : Canon Cameras

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Evan Lindman
Canon C100 MK II vs Panasonic GH5s
on Jan 24, 2018 at 8:41:37 pm

Hello, everyone!

I am looking for opinions.

I am a wedding videographer and I make social media films for businesses, etc. I have two Canon C100 MK Is and a Ninja Blade Recorder (which I love),I am trying to figure out if I should buy a GH5s or not. My original plan is/was to sell one of my C100s to get a C100 MK II, I want to get into more slow-motion video for wedding and social media films. I've had no complaints with my C100 MK I, except that you can't really do slow-motion on it correctly. It will record in 60i, and then you have to de-interlace the footage and I think that the quality does diminish in the footage when doing that (just my opinion).

I like the features on the C100 MKII. It records in a little bit of a higher bit rate and most importantly, it as a high frame rate setting, which I like/need. I just talked to one of my buddies this morning and he said he is selling his C100 MKII to get a GH5s. He gave me his reasons and I was almost sold on it, but I've been doing more research and I've found out that a lot of people really like the C100 MKII because of the features, and it's very comparable to the GH5 (depending on what you're doing). Also, I found out that I would need to get a lense adapter for the GH5s and either a shotgun mic for it or and XLR adapter, which roughly runs it at the same price as a C100 MK II.

With this "4k" age and craze coming about, I don't want to fall behind, but there aren't many devices aside from TVs that display in 4k. And I don't want to get going on file sizes either!