FORUMS: list search recent posts

Wildlife Filmmaking Camera Questions

COW Forums : Cinematography

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Patrick Negwer
Wildlife Filmmaking Camera Questions
on Apr 18, 2019 at 10:38:02 pm

Hello everyone! First time poster!

I've been a photographer and videographer for over 10 years now.

My hobby is to travel around the world to nature reserves and watching animals. To do so I camp, walk, sleep wherever, eat whatever and carry the minimun I can to avoid overweight and getting tired, I spend a lot of time under rain and strange weather conditions.

I am looking for a camera for general filmmaking and found myself terrified of spending $2500+ for a camera body and another $1500+ for a wide aperture lens. I was using a 6d mark II with a 70-300mm canon 4-5.6 and a 24-105 4-5.6f, which sums up to about $5k+. But I hate carrying around lenses and body's and stuff that can get wet and dirt and sand in it. Sooooooo... I was looking for options and found about a Sony RX10 IV, with a 24-600mm 2.2-4 aperture fixed lens. It's a bridge camera and it's the firt time im considering this type of camera my first choice. It is cheap, sturdy, weatherproof, long range lens, good aperture, 4k for downscaling, high FPS for action moments, low weight. I am afraid of being fooled and thinking this is the ultimate camera for everything I need videowise. Keep in mind wildlife is my hobby and I have a conservation program on youtube that helps me fulfill my dreams of helping the environment.

Video quality and image quality wise, is this camera enough for semi-professional videos? I mean I will never spend $20k for a camera, not even $4k+, so keeping this in mind, will this be a good camera for documentary style videos about nature?

Is the stabilization of this camera good?

Thanks in advance, any recommendations are welcome!