FORUMS: list search recent posts

Out of college, without much money, entering documentary work (Camcorder Recommendations)

COW Forums : Cinematography

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tomás Monzón
Out of college, without much money, entering documentary work (Camcorder Recommendations)
on Aug 25, 2018 at 3:27:27 pm

Hello everyone,

Back on the COW after a long time. I've been doing journalism and documentary-style video for many years, but I'm just out of college and have always done these productions using someone else's equipment. I'm now trying to get my own documentary outfit off the ground, but as you can imagine, don't have all the money in the world to do so.

So far I've discovered that shooting long interviews, or doing handheld work in the field without having the time to set up my shots (as is the case in run'n'ngun documentary work) is a hellish experience with my Nikon D3200 DSLR. Great for photography and very specific cinematic shots but otherwise ill-suited to my work.

My simple question is: with a small budget, what's the best bet for purchasing a proper camcorder that will get me the best video quality possible? Consumer-grade camcorders have a ton of features but ultimately don't do well in low-light, batteries don't last very long, don't have sufficient connectivity (XLR), etc. The Canon XC10 looks beautiful but is expensive (for me) and looks a bit fragile for inclement weather/rough conditions.

I'm leaning towards purchasing an older HDV camera (ENG-style) and putting an Atomos Ninja 2 on it and calling it a day. Is this a viable option or would I be making a bad investment?

Thank you all for any ideas you can provide.

ElMonzon.com | Independent Multimedia Production

Dude in his 20s, fresh out of college, entering the freelance documentary world.

Return to posts index

Todd Terry
Re: Out of college, without much money, entering documentary work (Camcorder Recommendations)
on Aug 25, 2018 at 7:23:25 pm