FORUMS: list search recent posts

What can I do to make autofocus look good?

COW Forums : Cinematography

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
ryan elder
What can I do to make autofocus look good?
on Aug 18, 2018 at 11:44:04 pm

I've never worked with autofocus before, and am not use to it, but I was had a gimbal operator shoot a scene for me, and he had have the camera on autofocus while moving the gimbal around because he said he wasn't able to pull focus manually on it.

However, the autofocus screws up in some of the takes for every take and takes too long to focus, and plays catch up.

But since I didn't have the budget to get an operator who has the equipment to pull focus as well as move the camera on the gimbal, what can I do to not make it seem like an error to the viewer?

I want to make my low budget limitations still look good, is there anything I can do to make the autofocus catch ups appear more natural to the viewer?

Return to posts index

Stephen Smith
Re: What can I do to make autofocus look good?
on Aug 20, 2018 at 6:47:16 pm

The autofocus capabilities will depend on the camera. I think this tutorial will help:

Stephen Smith

Utah Video Productions

Check out my Vimeo page

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
on Aug 21, 2018 at 2:18:32 pm

If the AF has a "momentary" button, press it to set the focus, then leave it alone. Use iris and shutter settings that maximize depth of field and focus becomes less of an issue, and then you can add blurs in post if you want to control where the apparent focus is and make it *look* like you shot with narrow DOF...

Return to posts index

ryan elder
on Aug 21, 2018 at 4:50:53 pm

Well I was thinking maybe I could shoot deep DOF and forget about adding focus in post, but some viewers told me they find my footage distracting when everything in focus before. So how does make deep DOF look good, like older movies use to before the 60s?

Return to posts index

Stephen Smith