FORUMS: list search recent posts

Why doesn't my videographer color balance with white card before shoot?

COW Forums : Cinematography

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
chris pike
Why doesn't my videographer color balance with white card before shoot?
on Jul 31, 2018 at 7:57:57 pm

I'm new to video production. I occasionally hire people more experienced than myself to assist, and I learn by watching. I always ask these pros if they color balance with a white card before a shoot. Everyone of them says, "No, it is basically daylight." I should mention that I do shoot indoors with some sunlight in the windows and all my lights are daylight LEDs (no bicolors), all the room lights are off, so the light is "basically" daylight. However, I don't think these guys understand what is happening when you color balance a camera. The color temperature is only an average of a spectrum. There is actually a whole spectrum that can have peaks and valleys, or can have a tail at one end, and so on. When you color balance the camera, it knows to process the data compared to the shape of the spectrum, not just the average. You just can't do that in post. I am I correct?

Return to posts index

Todd Terry
Re: Why doesn't my videographer color balance with white card before shoot?
on Jul 31, 2018 at 8:05:39 pm

To be honest, I have not "white balanced" a camera in many years. I always dial in the exact color temperature that I want. Also sometimes I want it a little cooler than it really is, or a little warmer. Most of my primes are matched, but a couple aren't... and I know that I have some lenses that skew a little warmer than others, so I'll shoot those with a lower temperature. I think it's more or less the norm not to actually push the old "white balance" button anymore. Heck, I don't even know where it is on my current camera.

But... That's just the way I do it. Your mileage may vary.

T2

fantasticplastic.com

Return to posts index

chris pike