FORUMS: list search recent posts

4K Camera Selection

COW Forums : Cinematography

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Phillip Buchanan
4K Camera Selection
on Jul 18, 2018 at 3:53:23 am

I am looking for advice on buying a 4K camera that will produce pro quality results with little tuning. I am a complete newbie to video production but will soon be recording videos for an online training service and they need to be in 4K and high quality so looking for advice on the camera and any other accessories to make it a complete rig.
I looked into black magic camera but they are slightly pricey and require lot of tuning by a knowledgeable user to get a great result from what I read.
I will need to order and procure these things this week or early next week.

Return to posts index

Blaise Douros
Re: 4K Camera Selection
on Jul 18, 2018 at 3:52:03 pm

Panasonic GH5 or GH5s, or Sony Alpha, probably A7III, or A7sII. A kit lens will be fine for most purposes. Panasonic and Sony each have their own XLR audio adapter that you should get so you can hook the camera up to a decent mike (you did plan for audio, right?). You'll need either a shotgun mike that you can hang on a c-stand above your subject, or a lavalier mike, either wired or wireless, so you can get good audio. You'll need lighting as well, and that's a whole other rabbit hole. Light stands, c-stands. Get a tripod, for sure. You're looking at between $4000 - $8000 for a complete setup, depending on how good you want it to be.

What concerns me is this: you say you're completely new to video work, yet you're about to produce a bunch of training videos for a company that expects professional-level work? I hope, for your sake, that you're an in-house person who's gotten this as an assignment, and has time for some trial and error.