FORUMS: list search recent posts

Lighting a workshop

COW Forums : Lighting Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
James Woodman
Lighting a workshop
on Dec 8, 2017 at 2:34:15 pm

Hi, everyone. This is my first post here.

I'm due to film a sculptor in his workshop later this month. I went to take a look at the location yesterday and am now trying to come up with a lighting plan.

The workshop is a low-ceilinged shed with small windows along one side. There are three or four fluorescent tubes fixed to the ceiling, which give a very uneven light. There's a big contrast between the lit and unlit areas because the tubes are only barely above head height. There will be some daylight from the windows.

I'd like him to be able to move around the workshop as much as he needs to whilst I'm filming without me needing to spend a lot of time re-rigging lights. I'll be working alone.

I've lit a lot of interviews with people, but I have very little experience of lighting larger areas. I don't want to spend too much time on the day trying to make this work, so I'm starting to plan now. Do you have any suggestions for what I could try, please?

I have access to:
  • a nice soft circular LED panel (which I use for interviews)

• a basic square LED panel

• 1kW + 500W tungsten soft boxes

• one 150W tungsten DedoLight

My instinct is to switch off the fluorescent lights and then use the more portable kit (daylight LEDs on batteries + DedoLight with blue gel) to light the area he's working in, moving them if necessary. But that won't give a lot of light. I can't take the obvious option of bouncing the 1kW light off the ceiling because the ceiling isn't white.

I should also mention that he's bald and that highlights could be a challenge!

Thanks in advance for any help or advice you can offer.

James

Return to posts index

Rick Wise
Re: Lighting a workshop
on Dec 9, 2017 at 1:03:16 am