Lighting For Large Green Screen inside small studio

COW Forums : Lighting Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
dallas kruse
Lighting For Large Green Screen inside small studio
on Mar 15, 2017 at 4:09:26 pm

I'm a hobbyist.

I have a Canon 5D Mark III.

I have a couple q's about my green screen. I have a standard Green Screen muslin sheet (10x20). I have an odd shaped studio.
Tall ceilings, which are great, but not my in the way of depth. So, I have trouble getting my actors away from the green screen and have to deal with shadows.

I do have the luxury of hanging lights if need be, but wondering, whats the best (or best for the price) way to totally wash a green screen in light?

I'm attaching a photo of something I shot last night. I turned to green screen to be able to have it be under the actors feet since we were shooting full body.

here's a rough sketch of the layout of my small studio.

Any help in fixtures, placement, techniques are MUCH appreciated.

I'm sort of Guerrilla style but want to move into better techniques and gear.

Music Producer dabbling in Video.
FCPX. Adobe CS6.
Canon T4i.

Return to posts index

dallas kruse
Re: Lighting For Large Green Screen inside small studio
on Mar 15, 2017 at 4:18:58 pm

Or would it actually just be easier to get a few 4x8 plywood panels and paint them Chroma green to help diminish wrinkles as well?

FCPX. Adobe CS6.
Canon T4i.

Return to posts index

Todd Terry
on Mar 15, 2017 at 4:19:21 pm

There's absolutely nothing wrong with guerrilla style gear. I've been doing this for 25 years and while I have a lot of the very highest-end toys you can buy, I'm not afraid to go the cheap or homemade route when that's the best or most economical way to do it.