FORUMS: list search recent posts

Double Polarizing

COW Forums : Lighting Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mark DAgostino
Double Polarizing
on Dec 9, 2016 at 8:06:31 pm

Our company recently built a new regional corporate headquarters. The walls are all glass looking out over the city and the harbor. All the conference rooms are full glass walls, like fishbowls. I'd like to use the view as a background for interviews but do not have the fire power to overcome the level on a sunny day, nor the time to play with various NDs. I have a lot of film experience and have worked with NDs to solve this issue for years.
I remember there being a double polarizer kit from someone that seemed like a nice solution for this quick and dirty balancing; polarizer on camera, polarizing gel on window. It makes the level of ND correction highly adjustable. I know I can buy the gel separately and use with my polarizers but I'm simply curious about finding the "kit" and am using it specifically for interviews, mostly MCU to MS. Anyone know know about this?
Thanks!

Mark D'Agostino
Video Producer
Creative Media Productions - Exelon
Baltimore, MD
MacPro,2.7 Ghz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5, 64GB 1866 Mhz DDR3 ECC, AMD FirePro D700 6144MB, AJA Io XT, Yosemite 10.10.1

Return to posts index

Todd Terry
Re: Double Polarizing
on Dec 9, 2016 at 8:48:34 pm

Never heard of that... but it does sound like a fairly semi-genius idea.

I'd be very curious to see if anyone else has heard of this, or done it.

Seems to me that if the gel is readily available... there's no need for a "kit" containing both the gel and the lens polarizer... especially considering there is such a wide range of filter sizes and types that would need to be covered (for example, I would need square 4x4 polarizers for my matte box, like most cine lenses mine have no filter threads).

Interested to hear.....

T2

fantasticplastic.com

Return to posts index

Erik Anschicks
on Dec 10, 2016 at 7:23:37 am