AVID: Avid Editing Forum Avid Editing Tutorials

Exception: cannot access the AMA media stream plug in to play this clip

COW Forums : Avid Media Composer

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alberto Veloso
Exception: cannot access the AMA media stream plug in to play this clip
on May 24, 2020 at 3:40:47 pm

Hello! I'm a newbie to Avid Media Composer First, and I just recently upgraded my software to 2020.4 from 2019.12 (on Mac). When I did, however, I learned that two project files I started in the previous software don't work right any more. I get the message "Exception: cannot access the AMA media stream plug in to play this clip." What's strange is that if I re-import the footage, I can play it just fine, but the new footage doesn't link up to the clips in the timeline, so I would lose all my cuts ☹ Has anyone encountered this before? Any advice?

Return to posts index

Michael Phillips
Re: Exception: cannot access the AMA media stream plug in to play this clip
on May 24, 2020 at 8:41:32 pm

2020.4 introduced the QuickTime AMA replacement from earlier versions. Your media is still using the old plug-in and as you've noticed you can relink again in with the new new. You will have to relink all your media and do a "relink to selected". There may be other methods but that is always my fallback/failsafe method. Highlight all your clips, then your sequence, right-click sequence, choose "relink to selected" and from there I would suggest looking for tutorials on relinking via good ol' Google.

Michael

Return to posts index

Alberto Veloso
on May 25, 2020 at 1:18:11 am

Hello Michael,