AVID: Avid Editing Forum Avid Editing Tutorials

Newbie not newbie getting back into MC

COW Forums : Color Grading

VIEW ALL   •   PRINT
Kenneth Maultsby
Newbie not newbie getting back into MC
on Sep 4, 2019 at 10:41:24 pm

Hello all after using other Editing systems on and off I am returning back to MC. The reason is after transcoding I am not experiencing any issues with media have files going offline etc. MC is just stable.

I am just a hobbyist, but I love to edit and shoot video. I just purchased my first 4K camcorder the Canon Vixia GX10 UHD 4K and shot my first 4k event a few weeks ago. It was an Air Show shot at 3840x2160 @ 59.94. I have just started editing in MC 2019.7. I link the media and created subclips. Will transcode in DNXHR.
I have some questions coming from other editing software on workflow and task to see if I can do it in MC.

1. I do a lot of vacation videos that also have a lot of stills. For example, in the middle of a video on the timeline I want to place ten stills on the timeline, and I want to add a cross dissolve between each one, how can add a cross dissolve in between them all at once instead of each transition one at a time?

2. This is an addon to question one. How can I add pan and zoon on multiple clips at the same time?

3. I see a lot user not using MC color correction tools and using something DiVinci Resolve. What is the matter with MC color corrections tools?

4. I know this may be a little early until I get more familiar with the software a little more experience but can some explain the difference between Total FX vs Boris continuum why you prefer one over the other?
Feel free to link to any tutorials or books. I also would love any keyboard short cuts anyone is willing to share.

OS Windows 10 CPU AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 3.70 GHz
Memory 32 gb
Hard drives C: SSD OS and Programs
F: 2 TB Documents and other programs
G: Drobo 6TB photos and videos
H: SSD 500 gb Cache drive
I: RockStor Raid 0 1x4 TB

Return to posts index