AVID: Avid Editing Forum Avid Editing Tutorials

RED 4K editing workflow in HD Project

COW Forums : Avid Media Composer

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Phil Vo
RED 4K editing workflow in HD Project
on Jun 13, 2018 at 9:03:25 pm

Hi all,

I apologize in advance for what I believe a common topic that has been discussed many many times, but I found a great post here that is similar to my situation and for some odd reason half the information was missing. I think it may have to do with me accidentally pressing "report post" and now those post won't show up anymore. Any how, I digress.

This is my first project editing RED footage in a HD 1920x1080 project. I've already edited 3 scenes with the RED footage but before I go any further, and avoiding in catastrophe along the way, I would like to ask all the professionals here a few questions. BTW, the first 3 scenes are fairly short so I just linked the RED files and start cutting from there (don't know if that's a smart move, but my workstation seems to be capable of handling it). Running MC 2018.4

1) Are there any specific settings I need to be on the lookout for?
I checked my Source Setiing and feel like I should do something here, but I'm unsure. The FrameFlex tab is what I'm most concerned about. The footage when linked is filling the entire monitor, and seems kind of stretched. There are 2 boxes I believe needs to be addressed and that's "SIZE MATCHES PROJECT RASTER" and "REFORMAT".

2) In regards to the FrameFlex tab, I've attached an image of my current FrameFlex setting.

The Raster Dimension, image size are identical, and the image aspect ratio is 2.40:1. On the FrameFlex box below, should my Frame aspect ratio be 16:9 and not set to custom (2.40:1)?
Should "Size matches project raster" be check or left alone?
On "Reformat" it's on stretch, but I believe it should be set to "pillarbox/letterbox" or perhaps "center crop".