AVID: Avid Editing Forum Avid Editing Tutorials

Trying to migrate project, can't relink media (total Avid newbie)

COW Forums : Avid Media Composer

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ted Deltufo
Trying to migrate project, can't relink media (total Avid newbie)
on Jan 20, 2018 at 2:08:50 pm

I'm an editor, but I've never used Avid before. I took over an Avid project from another editor, and I'm trying to migrate it to Premiere.

Unfortunately, all the media is offline. I can open the .avp file, see the media in bins, and see the edits... but everything is offline.

I've tried "Relink Media", and it says "no clips were relinked."

I went to "Get Info" for a clip, and the UNC paths were the same folder structure that the footage is in. I even changed the harddrive name to make it identical. Still, no go.

Any advice? Thanks ahead of time!

ps. I'm using Media Composer 8.9, on a 15-inch 2014 MacBook Pro.

Return to posts index

John Pale
Re: Trying to migrate project, can't relink media (total Avid newbie)
on Jan 20, 2018 at 6:47:43 pm
Last Edited By John Pale on Jan 20, 2018 at 6:49:02 pm

If we are talking about “traditional” Avid Media management see below.....if we are talking about AMA/Linked Media, then the procedure is entirely different....

For Avid to recognize the media you need to set up the folder structure like this...

Your Drive/Avid MediaFiles/MXF/1

You cannot use a different folder structure.

Inside the “1” folder will be the media files and also a media database. If the database file isn’t there, Avid won’t recognize any media. You can force Avid to rebuild if its missing.

Import a graphic or music file. Make sure you select that media drive as the import destination. Once it imports, Avid will create a new database and also notice that there is tons of media in the same folder. You’ll see a “scanning” progress bar come up on screen and the media will come online when it finishes.