AVID: Avid Editing Forum Avid Editing Tutorials

Media offline after moving MXF files to a new folder

COW Forums : Avid Media Composer

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ryan Dundas
Media offline after moving MXF files to a new folder
on Oct 11, 2017 at 6:50:03 pm

I am new to Avid and still trying to master a workflow that works for the reality TV work that I do. I am trying to come up with the best way to sort all of my media, so I have a few media management questions. I am on a mac with Avid 8.8.4

At our office we are working from a Qnap raid that stores all of our Avid media, but I also need to be able to make drives with a single project and it's media for editors to work from home. I have been struggling to find a reliable way to do this. So far I have been copying the entire Avid MediaFiles folder, but once we get further into shooting, our 6 TB G-Drives will no longer be able to fit all the media from every episode. I got the company to purchase Automatic Duck Media Copy, but I have a bunch of media that will not come online after transferring the project and media to a drive. After talking with some Avid experienced friends, I decided to try to keep all of the media for each project organized in it's own folder instead of having multiple projects media all scrambled together in the Avid MediaFiles folder.

So I started by creating a partition on the raid for each project/show that we are working on to keep the media separated. Each partition will have an Avid project for each episode of that show. I didn't want to make 20+ partitions on my raid for each episode, so now I need a way to organize the media for each episode into it's own folder. That way if an editor needs to take an episode home to work on, I can copy over one folder inside the Avid MediaFiles folder along with the project folder and I'm done.