AVID: Avid Editing Forum Avid Editing Tutorials

Media Drive on MacBook Pro for Avid Media Composer trial

COW Forums : Avid Media Composer

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jennifer Essex-Chew
Media Drive on MacBook Pro for Avid Media Composer trial
on Sep 15, 2017 at 11:27:42 am

Good Morning!
I am new to apple laptops - never installed MC on one before. Where is the media drive located? I tried attaching a lacie hard drive to store the Lynda.com exercise & media files and then MC won't load - invalid file name. I moved the exercise & media files onto the hard drive under "Movies" however it still will not recognize the files. I tried to relink - however MC says it can't because there is no media drive. When I had no media loaded - before the Lynda files, I had a message that "No media can be written to any mounted drives. Please check write permissions. " Any help would be great. Thanks in advance!!

Return to posts index

Shane Ross
Re: Media Drive on MacBook Pro for Avid Media Composer trial
on Sep 15, 2017 at 3:46:16 pm

The "media drive" is simply the drive where you store the media. So it would be that Lacie drive.

[Jennifer Essex-Chew] "I moved the exercise & media files onto the hard drive under "Movies" however it still will not recognize the files."

Now, Avid is VERY VERY SPECIFIC about where the Avid media needs to go, and what format it needs to be. When you have transcoded Avid media, it goes into a folder on the root level of the drive...the "Avid MediaFiles" folder. And then in that, there is an "MXF" folder. And then in there, folders with numbers, "1," "2," and so on. If the media is not in that EXACT file path, Avid won't see it.