AVID: Avid Editing Forum Avid Editing Tutorials

Avid First Problems

COW Forums : Avid Media Composer

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tom Witt
Avid First Problems
on Jul 23, 2017 at 11:24:48 pm

My apology this is for Avid First and not Media Composer. I've had problems galore and one is even being able to register an Avid Forum account though I have a Master Account with them when I acquired Avid First.

I'd like to start off by saying I'm only dealing with SD 525/29.97 footage (it is a lot of old archived footage). I've run this footage without issue on as little as MC 2.7 running a Pentium D 850 CPU and 2 GB of RAM. So, I doubt I'm taxing my system. That said the Avid First minimums only state 6 GB RAM (I'm running 8 GB). They make no statement to the CPU (Core2Duo, 3Mhz) nor the GPU (Quadro 3700) running on a Dell 960. I'm running Windows 10, 64 bit and it was a clean, fresh, updated, install prior to the addition of Avid First (and only Avid First, I run all my editors as a single purpose computer). THe Quardo drivers are up to date. Yes, I know the system is older but so is the minimal demand of the SD footage.

When I initially launched Avid first I got (two) I-Lok notices when the Audio Effects were loading. At the second notice I was prompted that I could proceed but with limited (no audio effects) capabilities. I also got a Quicktime notice and installed QT 7.79 (1680.95.84).

Anyway, less the ability to use the Avid Audio Effects everything worked fine. But being the type to want things right I investigated the matter and found information to updated the I-Lok. This no longer caused the two I-Lok prompts and Avid First now loaded without issue.