Relinking subclips to new master file

COW Forums : Avid Media Composer

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mary Kerr
Relinking subclips to new master file
on Jul 18, 2017 at 4:12:32 am

Hi,

Humble newbie here…

I am working as an AE for a mostly archival-footage documentary.
I imported a 90-minute .mov file, and made 20-30 subclips, but turns out the original file was slightly corrupt.

They sent us a new, higher-res .mp4 file, but with a new name.
Everything is the same (running time, timecode, etc.), except for these differences:

NAME (for example): "123.mov" (old) / "456.mp4" (new)
FORMAT: 30i NTSC (old) / 1080p/23.98 (new)
CODEC: Unsupported i(PAL) (old) / H.264 (new)
IMAGE SIZE: 480x272 (old) / 1920x1080 (new)
V. RESOLUTION: DNxHD 80 (old) / DNxHD 36 (new) (I’m bringing it in at a lower resolution)

Is there any way I can simply change the name of the new file to the old name, and then link/import/transcode it and it will work with my subclips (after I relink)?! If so, would I have to change the “.mp4” to “mov” as well?!

(FWIW, at one point, they reuploaded the old file for us, and I downloaded and brought it back into Avid, transcoding it as DNx36, and it seemed to work/relinking to all the subclips – but was still crappy quality…. I’ve tried with this new file, having changed the name to the original – and am having trouble).

Thanks!

Return to posts index

Brent Marginet
Re: Relinking subclips to new master file
on Jul 18, 2017 at 5:50:11 am

There not the same frame rate, frame size or even codec so a relink/import/transcode will pretty much be useless.

[Mary Kerr] "Everything is the same (running time, timecode, etc.), except for these differences:

NAME (for example): "123.mov" (old) / "456.mp4" (new)
FORMAT: 30i NTSC (old) / 1080p/23.98 (new)
CODEC: Unsupported i(PAL) (old) / H.264 (new)
IMAGE SIZE: 480x272 (old) / 1920x1080 (new)
V. RESOLUTION: DNxHD 80 (old) / DNxHD 36 (new) (I’m bringing it in at a lower resolution)"