AVID: Avid Editing Forum Avid Editing Tutorials

4k offline proxy workflow for documentary

COW Forums : Avid Media Composer

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ryan Dundas
4k offline proxy workflow for documentary
on Jun 21, 2017 at 7:45:56 pm

I am an assistant editor for a company that has recently switched to Avid 8.8.1 and we are about to start shooting a ton of footage for a documentary in 4k. The plan for post is to edit with proxy files then finish in 4k. I have been researching and finding different ways to do this in media composer, but most of the tutorials I find are from older versions of avid. It looks like some things have changed in the newest version so I have a few questions...

Should I set up my project as 4k UHD to match my footage and delivery specs? Or should I create a lower resolution project (1080 or 720) then transcode my 4k media to match the project?

If I work in a 4k project I can transcode to Source 1/4, or Source 1/16 for raster dimensions, at DNxHR LB. Is this a better way of making the proxies compared to changing the project format to a lower resolution then transcoding to that resolution?

Does the Proxy dropdown in the format tab just change the playback quality? If so I can leave that set to off if I transcode all my footage to 1/4 or 1/16 quality right?

We will also be using a lot of archival news footage that we will receive in lower resolutions. How should I go about mixing 1080p and 720p footage into this project?

And lastly, what is the best way to bring my sequences back online when edit is complete? I have also found a few different ways of doing this. I do not want to delete all of my proxy files to make them offline then relink. I would like to keep them in case we have to do some tweaking. Also I do not want to relink all of my proxy master clips to the source file that I linked and transcoded, because then it will relink that media in every sequence that it is in right?