AVID: Avid Editing Forum Avid Editing Tutorials

AVID - Nitris DX - 8 Channel Audio Setup with Mixer (Mackie 1402 VLZ4)

COW Forums : Avid Media Composer

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bala Kingston
AVID - Nitris DX - 8 Channel Audio Setup with Mixer (Mackie 1402 VLZ4)
on Jun 12, 2017 at 1:06:54 pm

Hi all,

I am new to the Avid hardware setup so forgive me for missing the obvious.

I am assisting an editor who would like 8 channel control in Avid Media Composer using the mixer at her desk, we have a Nitris DX at the setup but I can't seem to figure out the correct process for wiring both the Nitris DX and mixer together to give the desired control.

(Image below of mixer)

(Nitris DX)

I have a bucket full of XLR and 1/4 cables and whilst t the collection is great, I feel that I actually need a specific cable that would split at some point after routing out of the DX.

I hope somebody could shed light on this.

Thank you all in advance.

Return to posts index

Trevor Asquerthian
Re: AVID - Nitris DX - 8 Channel Audio Setup with Mixer (Mackie 1402 VLZ4)
on Jun 12, 2017 at 3:51:59 pm

You'd need disembedders to > 4 channels, only 4 analogue outs on Nitris DX. I think there's 8 channels on the AES connector but you'd need the AES lead & DACs.

Return to posts index

Bob Zelin
on Jun 13, 2017 at 1:40:02 pm

this is an unusual question. When you say the editor wants "control" -- if you go into this mixer, you will be able to monitor the independent channels into your speakers, but it's not going to "control" the audio mixer in the AVID user interface. So even if you get this wired up for audio monitoring, please be aware, that this is not going to do a "mix" for you.

The AVID Artist Mix
http://www.avid.com/products/artist-mix
will do this for you.

But if you want to just monitor the audio, you buy this cable -
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/135067-REG/Pro_Co_Sound_DA88XM_5_Mul...