AVID: Avid Editing Forum Avid Editing Tutorials

Avid Script Development (Programming)

COW Forums : Avid Media Composer

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
James Newman
Avid Script Development (Programming)
on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:42:52 pm

So I've been an Edit assistant for 2 years now and as a hobby programmer, I noticed some regular tasks I could improve / automate. However i'm finding it difficult to find any kind of documentation regarding plugins or script development for Avid. I've noticed when reading through Avid console commands there are commands to run scripts (RunScript -- Load a script file & execute any non-definition commands.), so surely there must be a way I can do this right?

Essentially what i'm asking; Does anyone know any useful resources regarding avid plugin or script development?

Thanks,
James

Return to posts index

Michael Phillips
Re: Avid Script Development (Programming)
on Jan 22, 2015 at 2:36:26 pm

Other that application like QuickKeys, etc. Media Composer does not offer methods of scripting actions for different operation within the application. Marquee can do some form of title creation via Pearl if I remember correctly, but Media Composer still relies on its very early roots that an editor makes all decisions and operations. There have been many requests over the years from pipeline engineers in production wanting to process and place clips in bins automatically and other forms of automation when processing large amounts of footage. I remember visiting Viacom back in 2001 and they had 10 headless Media 100 systems automating the creation of interstitials with versioning, etc. all through parsing, scripting, sequence creation and send.

If you go to Avid Developer's page here:
http://www.avid.com/US/partners/developer-partners