AVID: Avid Editing Forum Avid Editing Tutorials

Using a Linux-Based File Server with MC5

COW Forums : Avid Media Composer

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dom Dalliac
Using a Linux-Based File Server with MC5
on Aug 3, 2010 at 9:30:17 pm

Hello.

I am just now starting to learn Avid Media Composer (been editing with FCP for years). I have a 30TB Linux-based file server on my home network (attached via ethernet) that has played nice with both my Macs and Windows editing machines (the file server is a homebuilt Unraid system in case you are interested).

The problem that I'm having is that neither my Mac nor my Windows MC5 will recognize the network shares as media drives. Is this not possible with MC5? Am I completely out of luck? I really need to figure this out, because if I cannot use my file server, I have pretty much wasted my money on Media Composer.

Very important: I am not attempting to share projects with another editor. I am a single editor who needs to utilize the storage on my server for the Avid media files that make up my projects. Oh, and I cannot at the moment even consider a Unity or EditShare system (buying legit copies of Mac & Windows MC5 broke the bank).

Thanks in advance...

Dom

Return to posts index

Michael Hancock
Re: Using a Linux-Based File Server with MC5
on Aug 4, 2010 at 3:08:48 am

Open your console in Media Composer (Ctrl+6 on a PC, Cmd+6 on a Mac), then type 'alldrives' without the quotes. Avid will now recognize network drives as media drives.

Let me know if it doesn't work.

----------------
Michael Hancock
http://www.oswaldcommunications.com

Return to posts index

Dom Dalliac
on Aug 4, 2010 at 7:47:20 pm

Michael,

Thanks so much--that did indeed allow MC to "see" the drive.

However, now I'm having an additional problem. On my Mac Avid (Snow Leopard 10.6.4), I get this error message:

"Exception: Operation not supported, filename:/Volumes/xxx/Avid MediaFiles/MXF/1/Creating/creatingxxx"