AVID: Avid Editing Forum Avid Editing Tutorials

AVID via Bootcamp?

COW Forums : Avid Media Composer

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kris Anderson
AVID via Bootcamp?
on Jan 27, 2008 at 5:19:09 am

Hi all... new here.

I have been cutting on AVID for 15 years, since version 5 when AVR26 was as good as it got. Done small films, big films, TVC's, doco's blah blah blah.

I have recently built my own suite and discovered that FCP was a better financial solution in terms of going full HD. As much as I am really digging FCP, I do miss AVID. I'm just so much faster in AVID-land. So I was wondering, can I set up an AVID solution on my MacPro via Bootcamp or Parallels or similar?

I figure if I upgrade my system disk to 1TB and allocate a portion of it for a Windows XP OS then I could install Media Composer and hook up an SDI Mojo for my offline work, then export the sequence via automatic duck into FCP for Online, keeping the PC OS completely AVID friendly and seperate without messing up my Mac OS.

Anyone done this/doing this?

MacPro 8 core 3ghz - 8gig RAM - Mac OS 10.4.11
2.5tb internal RAID on Apple Raid Card
+ AJA Kona 3 + Sonnet External RAID

Return to posts index

Kris Anderson
Re: AVID via Bootcamp?
on Jan 27, 2008 at 7:11:21 am

Sorry, just discovered a similar post asking the same thig.

Any updates since the October post would be appreciated.

Return to posts index

Bouke Vahl
on Jan 27, 2008 at 12:01:20 pm

Avid works under bootcamp, but last time i've checked, Mojo is not recognized.
But if it's offline only, get two large widescreen monitors and run Avid on one, video on the other.
With todays monitor sizes/resolutions you have enough space for Avid even on one monitor.
As for output, it's faster to render a DVD for client approval
than to make a RT dub.

Bouke

http://www.videoToolShed.com
smart tools for video pro's

Return to posts index

Kris Anderson
on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:56:59 pm

Thanks.

The system was built as an FCP machine.