ZAXWERKS: Zaxwerks Forum Zaxwerks Tutorials

Importing an object from illustrator to Proanimator question?

COW Forums : Zaxwerks

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Josh J. Johnson
Importing an object from illustrator to Proanimator question?
on Jan 21, 2007 at 8:29:53 am

I'm new to Illustrator and Proanimator but I have gotten text from illustrator imported in to proanimator but my question is can you import a picture of a motorcylce for example from illustrator to proanimator using live draw?

thanks

Josh Johnson
Manager of Video Production
ETC, Inc.

Return to posts index

Jon Okerstrom
Re: Importing an object from illustrator to Proanimator question?
on Jan 21, 2007 at 3:12:14 pm

Josh,

ProAnimator only deals with vector-based art. Some people use Illustrator's autotrace feature to convert bit-mapped pictures to vector art, but I'll caution you that some clean-up will be required.

If I was doing it, I would use the motorcycle picture as a template and make a vector-based version of it. If you do this, you'll want to break the motorcycle down to its simplest shapes.

It's fairly straightforward to create the general shape of the motorcycle and apply the image to it. But creating a true 3D motorcycle will be more time-consuming and difficult because you'll have a ton of pieces and have to reorient some of them.

Hope this helps.

Jon

Return to posts index

Josh J. Johnson
on Jan 21, 2007 at 8:47:34 pm

Thanks for responding John. I'm new to illustrator and proanimator so how excatly would I make the motorcyle picture vector art without using live trace?

Thank you very much John.

Josh Johnson
Manager of Video Production
ETC, Inc.

Return to posts index

Jon Okerstrom
on Jan 22, 2007 at 12:23:42 am

Josh,

You'll need to get very familiar with Illustrator's tools.. particularly the pen tool and pathfinder. You could apply the motorcycle image to the shape of the motorcycle by tracing around the motorcycle by hand.