ZAXWERKS: Zaxwerks Forum Zaxwerks Tutorials

Vector file not recognized in Pro animator

COW Forums : Zaxwerks

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mykey38Vector file not recognized in Pro animator
by on Jan 10, 2007 at 3:04:43 am

Hello All,
I have a file that was a .bmp file and I have adobe illustrator CS2 and used the trace feature and then expand so it would make it have vector points. I then saved the file as an illustrator file but when i open animator it says there is no usable vector file available. I made sure when i converted it that i used the outline function in illustrator. Any ideas? I am new to illustrator so I could be missing something.

Thanks,

Return to posts index

Jon OkerstromRe: Vector file not recognized in Pro animator
by on Jan 10, 2007 at 5:28:31 am

Hi MyKey,

Two suggestions: When you save your Illustrator file, you can leave pdf compatible checked, but must uncheck the use compression option.

Also, you can expect to do some clean-up with autotraced files. The automated process often creates more points than necessary as well as twisted control handles that can results in spikes when you convert the art to a 3D model.

Jon

Return to posts index

mykey38Re: Vector file not recognized in Pro animator
by on Jan 10, 2007 at 12:18:01 pm

Hi Jon, I was leaving the compression option checked. I am not familiar with the cleanup process. What I have is a map of the state of West Virginia. I think there may be a lot of control handles because the model has a lot of curves. I wonder if smoothing out the curves will help? Thanks for your help..

Return to posts index

by on Jan 10, 2007 at 2:11:02 pm

Hi.

Invigorator and ProAnimator like filled solid shapes. Sometimes using autotrace causes unusual compound paths that don't seem to work right -- there's a thread about this from recent weeks. If you want, send me the file and I'll take a look at it.

jokerstrom 1 (at) mac.com

Jon

Return to posts index