ZAXWERKS: Zaxwerks Forum Zaxwerks Tutorials

Is Invigorator the right tool for this?

COW Forums : Zaxwerks

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
jeffczyzIs Invigorator the right tool for this?
by on Dec 6, 2006 at 12:21:25 am

I'm a newbie, so maybe this is out of my realm right now but:

To setup the scene, I'm trying to create a 3D cube(will be a shipping crate) that is supposed to be suspending just in front and above of the camera. All that is visible is the bottom and a few inches of the side. Within a split second, the crate will fall, crashing to the ground(not breaking up just falling). Eventually I want to make 1 of the sides of the crate fall open revealing what's inside)

I'm having a tough time with 1) Whether to use the comp camera or Invig Camera, 2)Whether to use the comp lights or invig lights 3)Whether this should be done in invigorator at all.

I've seen some really great 3D things done in Invigorator, but just not sure if this can be done where it looks good.

Suggestions, idea and directions?

Thanks,

Jeff

Return to posts index

Jon OkerstromRe: Is Invigorator the right tool for this?
by on Dec 6, 2006 at 1:40:56 am

Jeff,

You could most certainly use Invigorator for this job, but you should keep some things in mind:

I wouldn't use comp lights and camera unless they give you something specific that using the Invigorator lights and camera cannot. If they do, go right ahead.

Since all of the edges would be visible, I'd make separate objects (with thickness) for each side of the shipping box. Put all of the sides except one in the same set to keep them locked together.

Create another set. Add a null object to designate where the hinge on the side would be. Add the shipping crate side to that set.