Illustrator/zaxwerks importing problem clipping masks

COW Forums : Zaxwerks

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
cowcowcowcow
ProdGuy
Illustrator/zaxwerks importing problem clipping masks
on May 9, 2006 at 10:32:33 pm

Ok, here we go,
I have some great artwork from a client that I would like to take into Invigorator Pro and make 3D. Sounds easy, the origional file is an Illustrator file with vector paths. Here's the problem. On a portion of the artwork, I have encountered "clipping masks." I am no expert in Illustrator, I know enough for the basics. But, when I bring in the file to Invigorator Pro, the portion of artwork with the clipping mask looks like a large multi-colored block instead of the cool artwork as viewed in illustrator, hummm. How do I get rid of the clipping mask and get a usuable vector path from this artwork without going to the major hassle of basically outlining the artwork all over again? And if I do outline it, I loose the cool gradient effects that the clipping masks provide. Any Ideas???

Return to posts index

Jon Okerstrom
Re: Illustrator/zaxwerks importing problem clipping masks
on May 10, 2006 at 12:11:25 am

Hi ProdGuy,

Invigorator really only needs filled solid shapes. Any fancy gradients or clipped bit-map art won't be of value to you, in terms of creating the shapes.

To release a clipping mask Illustrator help suggests you do one of the following:
Select the clipping mask with the selection tool, and choose Object > Clipping Mask > Release.
In the Layers palette, select the target icon or click in the selection column adjacent to the object that you no longer want to use as a clipping mask. Alternatively, you can select the layer or group listing that the clipping mask is located within. Choose Object > Clipping Mask > Release.