ZAXWERKS: Zaxwerks Forum Zaxwerks Tutorials

Cannot import ai file.

COW Forums : Zaxwerks

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tomek SuwalskiCannot import ai file.
by on Jul 30, 2005 at 11:05:32 am

Hi.

This is probably very lame, but I'm new to Illustrator/3d Invigorator issues. I'm using Illustrator CS2, I create a simple text using one of the fonts, save it as .ai file, then run 3d Invigorator in AE, click 'open illustator file', choose my saved file and it doesn't open, instead an error message is promted: 'There were no usable vector paths in this file'. Well, what to do with that? How to create those 'usable vector paths'?
And the other question is where from does 3d Invigorator takes fonts when running in 'create 3d text' mode? I've got lots of fonts in common files/adobe/fonts directory, but it's not using them.

Thanks a lot in advance.

Return to posts index

Tomek SuwalskiRe: Cannot import ai file.
by on Jul 30, 2005 at 11:21:59 am

Ok, I see it now, 3D Invigorator takes fonts from windows/fonts directory. But I still don't know an answer for the first question, so if anyone can help, I'd appreciate.

Return to posts index

Tomek SuwalskiRe: Cannot import ai file.
by on Jul 30, 2005 at 12:29:20 pm

Ok, seems like first problem is already solved. Saving file as illustrator 8 helped, anyways, why cs2 format doesn't work?
But there immediately came another question - how to import ai file or create 3d text within 3d invigorator to have each letter from a word separately to further animate each one individualy not the whole word as a layer. And of course making each letter as a layer is not a solution cause it's too much work and there are things like kerning that cannot be make good that way.

Return to posts index

sergeRe: Cannot import ai file.
by on Jul 30, 2005 at 6:15:45 pm

Hi,
I answered to you in the AE forum.

Also check your IL manual or help on "release to layers".

Salut.
Serge

Return to posts index