MEDIA 100: Media 100 844/X Forum Media 100 Forum Media 100 Tutorials

Moving Legacy 100i 8.2.3 from G4 to G5?

COW Forums : Media 100

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ben Strasser
Moving Legacy 100i 8.2.3 from G4 to G5?
on Jan 19, 2012 at 8:06:03 am

Greetings. (8.2.3 or is it 8.3.2?) I've been using M100/Boris for many years - actually since I believe Boris made its debut when they gave you a baseball hat with the program and Phillip H had a unique stand-up manual for it. Used to do training videos for teachers etc before retirement. Now retired for 10 years and do some video stuff for internet on occasion; definitely a zero-sum operation but it's nice because I have no income from it to claim! Recently my old friend MAC G4 ate it and bought another on ebay for $50 so my 100 is working again. But I wondered, is there any problem in moving the board to a G5 (Might cost me $75 on ebay?) I would swap my hard drives to assure I'm still working with the same QT version, Os X version, etc. The reason I'm thinking going G5 is to get some extra speed? Anyone see any problems with that? If you're interested you can see my latest on YouTube; Tom Wolf's 1/5 Scale Mosquito. (Radio controlled airplane model with 124" wingspan.) Thanks in advance for your help. BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBen.

Return to posts index

Floh Peters
Re: Moving Legacy 100i 8.2.3 from G4 to G5?
on Jan 20, 2012 at 6:01:59 pm

Unfortunately your P6000 (or older) Media 100 board won´t physically fit into a G5. The PCI-slots in a G5 are PCI-X, and while they are backwards-compatible with PCI-boards that use 3.3V power, they are not with boards that also need 5V power (like the P6000 boards). You can use the P6000 board with a G5 when putting the board in a PCI Expansion chassis, though. But of course you would need a chassis as well as a G5.

Return to posts index

Ben Strasser
on Jan 21, 2012 at 3:52:20 am