MEDIA 100: Media 100 844/X Forum Media 100 Forum Media 100 Tutorials

Performance and frames

COW Forums : Media 100

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Paul Crowe
Performance and frames
on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:26:30 am

Hey again folks,

M100 V1.1.3 is giving me "Real-time playback errors occurred where there are no items to render - check your system's performance, disk speed and compression settings" when playing back clips.

What does this actually mean and how to I check/change this?

I shot 720p 50 on the EX3 acquired into M100 as Apple ProRess422(HQ) render settings set to the same. Please humor me here, I'm fairly new to the HD workflow...

I'm doing this cut on a pretty beastly mac (OSX. 10.5.8, 2x2.93ghz Quad core, 16GB RAM) so it should be able to handle it. So it has to be something to do with the way the machines resources are allocated right?

But how do I check and change this? Can you help me please?

Hmm, actually all the project material and data is sitting on a FW800 drive, could this be the issue?

One other thing ... I shot 720p 50fps on the EX3. I have a HD 720p 50 fps time line inM100 (using the ProRez422 HQ codec) but when I tab through the timeline there's only 25 frames in a second - shouldn't there be 50? or am I missing something?

Cheers
Paul

Return to posts index

Matthew Mullen
Re: Performance and frames
on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:09:25 pm

Is it consistent? Is it just over clips with effects or title? Are you using hardware?

Switch Video Output to "none" does it help at all?

Return to posts index

Floh Peters
on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:14:53 pm

This could either be a real performance issue, with your drives being not fast enough for your footage. You could e.g. use the Aja speed test to test your drive performance.
Or if you have a I/O hardware like an Aja card, it could be related to the placement of the card in your mac. Maybe it is in the wrong PCI slot. There are some recommended configurations on the Aja site.