MEDIA 100: Media 100 844/X Forum Media 100 Forum Media 100 Tutorials

P2 in Producer

COW Forums : Media 100

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Robert SlenkerP2 in Producer
by on Apr 21, 2009 at 7:23:39 pm

Hi guys,
I'm not new to Media 100 (since 1995) but I am new to P2. I just got an HPX170 in yesterday and have been playing with it. It's the first camcorder I've gotten in over 10 years (still have DVCPRO and Canon MiniDV camcorders.) I've been doing a lot of reading prior to being able to get it but I do have a question I hope someone can help me with.

I'm currently running Media 100 Producer v.11.6.2 on "Tiger" OS 10.4.11. I hope to upgrade to "Leopard" and the newest version of Media 100 (Media 100 Suite) when it's released in May. Anyway, I've shot some test clips w/ it in different formats but when trying to bring them into Producer, it only lets me import the SD clips I shot. It sees the HD clips (some 1080i and some 720p) but they are listed in italics and won't let me check them off to bring them in to my bin. What do I need to do? Is it a missing codec thing? Or a lack of being able to handle certain frame rates? In doing some reading, I know my version of Producer won't do 720p (maybe any progressive?)...that sucks but I think you guys have remedied that in later versions.

Media 100 v.11.6.2 really only gives me the option of 1080i or 480i in it's settings/preferences. If it's a missing codec thing, I seem to have codecs loaded on my Mac like DVCPRO HD (codec, muxer & .component) and FCP Uncompressed422.component, Media100 HD.

Maybe I'm just not recording in DVCPRO HD on the camera. Not sure where to select that. ?? Just thought I'd play w/ some HD clips and see if my Mac & editor could handle them.

Any advice would be appreciated. I read this forum daily to keep up w/ current affairs but haven't been able to graduate into a tapeless workflow until now.
Thanks,
BOB

Return to posts index

Floh PetersRe: P2 in Producer