Media 100- stay or go?

COW Forums : Media 100

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Terri Brantz
Media 100- stay or go?
on Oct 2, 2008 at 6:52:30 pm

Aaagh-- what happened to my post??
Anyway-- to recap--
I recently inherited a studio using Media 100, versions 7.5-8.2 on 5 different Macs of varying power. 1 Mac is a G5; 1 is a G4 w/ dual processors; 3 are G4's with single processors.

I'm having a terrible time teaching the program to my high school students. It seems to have lots of errors, isn't very intuitive, and the students and I are all struggling mightily. I've taught video production before, so it's not like I'm a novice, but I sure can't seem to wrap my head around this... The lack of tutorials, training videos, and so on don't help much either. I do have the tutorial books that came w/ the software, but it's a struggle to get the kids to work thru someone else's footage and get it going. So far they each filmed a short countdown and have spent the past 2 hours downloading maybe 1 minute of video, splitting, trimming, and adding a title. They're at maximum frustration limit, and so am I!

Is the new Media 100 version 12.whatever any better? Does the Audio menu get any clearer and easier to use? Is the titler any easier? Can you convince me that it's a worthwhile investment?

Does the new version use that big gi-normous clunky power toolbar thing that goes into the video card in the back of the Mac? If it doesn't use that, how does it import/export audio and video? Thanks for any help you can give!
Terri Brantz
Cheyenne, WY

Return to posts index

Wickham Strub
Re: Media 100- stay or go?
on Oct 2, 2008 at 9:18:19 pm

Hi Terri,

My name is Wickham Strub, I'm the Product Manager for Media 100 edit systems at Boris FX.