MEDIA 100: Media 100 844/X Forum Media 100 Forum Media 100 Tutorials

P2 Import into M100 12.1.3

COW Forums : Media 100

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Gary Stone
P2 Import into M100 12.1.3
on Jul 15, 2008 at 3:37:50 am

Thanks in Advance for all the posts that I've been soaking up on the M-100 forum.

I'm new to the HD workflow with P2 media; I'm not having any luck ingesting into the M100. I've been a loyal user of M-100 and After Effects since the days of CoSA (even kept the dongle for nostalgia), so I've grown & evolved with the applications. I'm currently running with the HDe setup on 2 -3Gig Dual cores with 10.4.11. The HVX200 is recording to a 16Gig card, which is offloaded to a Nexto CF Ultra portable Firewire drive, then copied to the editing drives. I know that the files are good 'cuz they can play in After Effects.

So... when I go File>Import Panasonic P2 and navigate to the files, the Import dialogue box opens and displays the clip thumbnail, but the name, start time, Duration and Codec are italicized and unavailable. The comment under Codec reads, "Codec Not Installed 'dvh6' ".

In reading some of the posts, I thought I may have encountered the same issue of trying to ingest footage captured at 720p native. But the info I gathered showed the specs to be 720/59.94p. I also tried ingesting some footage at a different rate: 1080/59.94i. With both settings, no luck.

So this sounds like a matter of not having the right codec, but where does one get this? (And why is it not part of the application?)

Gary

Return to posts index

Floh Peters
Re: P2 Import into M100 12.1.3
on Jul 15, 2008 at 6:44:42 am